• Twitter
  • Facebook
Theme
Currency
Log-in | Register | My Basket : arrow

Your shopping basket is currently empty.

0 items - 0.00
Our Publications

The Pemberley Bookshop

Our Shop

Why not come and peruse our comprehensive range of natural history titles at our well stocked bookshop, where you can also receive our expert advice. Click here for details of our shop.

Endless Forms: The Secret World of Wasps

by Sumner, S.

NewSpecial Offer
  • Hardback £16.95
  • £20.00 (Save £3.05)
  • New Book Availability : In stock
  • Add to wishlist
  • Catalogue No : 48677
  • ISBN : 9780008394479
  • Published : 2022
  • Cover : Hardback
  • Pages : 387

Our customers have not yet submitted a review for this title - click here to be the first to write a review

Description:

There may be no insect with worse PR than the wasp, and none guarding so many undiscovered wonders.

Where bees and ants have long been the darlings of the insect world, wasps are much older, cleverer and more diverse. They are the bee's evolutionary ancestors - flying 100 million years earlier - and today they are just as essential for the survival of our environment. A bee, ecologist Professor Seirian Sumner argues, is just a wasp that has forgotten how to hunt.

For readers of Entangled Life, Other Minds and The Gospel of Eels, this is a book to upturn your expectations about one overlooked animal and the wider architecture of our natural world.

With endless surprises, this book might teach you about the wasps that spend their entire lives sealed inside a fig, about stinging wasps, about parasitic wasps, about wasps that turn cockroaches into living zombies, about how wasps taught us to make paper.

It offers up a maligned insect in all its diverse, unexpected splendour; as both predator and pollinator, the wasp is an essential pest controller worldwide. Inside their sophisticated social worlds is the best model we have for the earth's major evolutionary transitions. In their understudied biology are clues to progressing medicine, including a possible cure for cancer.

The closer you look at these spurned, winged insects - both custodians and bouncers of our planet - the more you see. Their secrets have so far gone mostly untapped, but the potential of the wasp is endless.

You may also like...

Ponds, Pools and Puddles (New Naturalist 146 )

Ponds, Pools and Puddles (New Naturalist 146 )

Biggs, J.; Williams, P.

Price £47.50

(Save £17.50)

Sedges of the British Isles

Sedges of the British Isles

Jermy, A.C.; Simpson, D.A.; Foley, M.J.Y.; Porter, M.S.

Price £20.00

Bumblebees of Europe. Hymenoptera of Europe 3

Bumblebees of Europe. Hymenoptera of Europe 3

Rasmont, P.; Ghisbain, G.; Terzo, M.

Price £72.00

Wasps: The Astonishing Diversity of a Misunderstood Insect

Wasps: The Astonishing Diversity of a Misunderstood Insect

Eaton, E.R.

Price £18.75

(Save £6.25)

Ants

Ants

Jones, R.

Price £32.00

(Save £8.00)

Bees of Europe. Hymenoptera of Europe 1

Bees of Europe. Hymenoptera of Europe 1

Michez, D.; Rasmont, P.; Terzo, M.; Vereecken, N.J.

Price £69.00

The Ants of Central and North Europe

The Ants of Central and North Europe

Seifert, B.

Price £59.00

Subscribe to our mailing list More details about our mailing list arrow