• Twitter
  • Facebook
Theme
Currency
Log-in | Register | My Basket : arrow

Your shopping basket is currently empty.

0 items - 0.00
Our Publications

The Pemberley Bookshop

Our Shop

Why not come and peruse our comprehensive range of natural history titles at our well stocked bookshop, where you can also receive our expert advice. Click here for details of our shop.

Mini-Forest Revolution: Using the Miyawaki Method to Rapidly Rewild the World

by Lewis, H.

  • Paperback £16.99
  • New Book Availability : Usually available within 5 day(s)
  • Add to wishlist
  • Catalogue No : 50384
  • ISBN : 9781645021278
  • Published : SEP 2022
  • Cover : Paperback
  • Pages : 224

Our customers have not yet submitted a review for this title - click here to be the first to write a review

Description:

Foreword by Paul Hawken. For readers who enjoyed Finding the Mother Tree and The Hidden Life of Trees comes the first-ever book about a movement to restore biodiversity in our cities and towns by transforming empty lots, backyards, and degraded land into mini-forests. Author Hannah Lewis is the forest maker turning asphalt into ecosystems to save the planet and she wants everyone to know they can do it too.

In Mini-Forest Revolution, Lewis presents the Miyawaki Method, a unique approach to reforestation devised by Japanese botanist Akira Miyawaki. She explains how tiny forests as small as six parking spaces grow quickly and are much more biodiverse than those planted by conventional methods. She explores the science behind why Miyawaki-style mini-forests work and the myriad environmental benefits, including: cooling urban heat islands, establishing wildlife corridors, building soil health, sequestering carbon, creating pollinator habitats, and more.

Today, the Miyawaki Method is witnessing a worldwide surge in popularity. Lewis shares the stories of mini-forests that have sprung up across the globe and the people who are planting them―from a young forest along the concrete alley of the Beirut River in Lebanon, to a backyard forest planted by tiny-forest champion Shubhendu Sharma in India.

This inspiring book offers a revolutionary approach to planting trees and a truly accessible solution to the climate crisis that can be implemented by communities, classrooms, cities, clubs, and families everywhere.

You may also like...

The Pond Book: A Guide to the Management and Creation of Ponds

The Pond Book: A Guide to the Management and Creation of Ponds

Williams, P.; Biggs, J.; Whitfield, M.; Thorne, A.; Bryant, S.; Fox, G.; Nicolet, P.

Price £28.95

The Book of Wilding: A Practical Guide to Rewilding, Big and Small

The Book of Wilding: A Practical Guide to Rewilding, Big and Small

Tree, I.; Burrell, C.

Price £27.50

(Save £7.50)

Biodiversity in Dead Wood

Biodiversity in Dead Wood

Stokland, J.N.; Siitonen, J.; Jonsson, B.G.

Price £104.00

Reedbed Management for Commercial and Wildlife Interests

Reedbed Management for Commercial and Wildlife Interests

Hawke, C.J.; Jose, P.V.

Price £14.95

Ecology and Natural History (New Naturalist 143)

Ecology and Natural History (New Naturalist 143)

Wilkinson, D.

Price £47.50

(Save £17.50)

Subscribe to our mailing list More details about our mailing list arrow